Art That Goes Bump in the Night

My new Arts, Crafts, and the Macabre article on the Zombie Cat Productions website was posted last week! This article was about a fantastic shop called Morose and Macabre, run by who else but Dr. Morose and Miss Macabre. I totally fell in love with these guys and blathered on about them in an almost embarrassing fashion for the entire article. Here’s an excerpt:

They describe themselves as Neo-Victorian inspired, low brow, horror artists (Oh, how romantic is that?) and they create pretty much any kind of art you can think of, from original paintings and prints, to jewelry, assemblages, post-mortem shadowboxes, and my very absolute favorite: dolls and poppets. Just have a look at the very first item of theirs that I saw that made me fall in love:

Six & Seven The Conjoined Twin dolls by Macabre

The doll above is just one small example of the kinds of items Morose and Macabre sell in their shop. They have paintings, prints, jewelry, dolls, t-shirts, everything!

Dolly-rot by Morose

They also have a Facebook page, a Myspace page, a website, a blog… you can find these guys on the internet everywhere… All the links are easily found in my article, which you can easily read by clicking here!

Now, I understand that the shops I feature in my Arts, Crafts, and the Macabre column are usually of a distinct taste… They’re not for everyone and I can appreciate that, but I still hope you appreciate the quality of their art as much as I do!

Go check out Morose and Macabre on Etsy. They’re easily one of my favorite shops thus far :)

 

 

 

 

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

