Teasley Art Auction

In two short weeks,  Teasley Elementary School (where my daughter is in first grade) will hold its biggest fundraiser of the year- the annual Purple Party Art Auction! This year it will be held on Saturday, April 30th, at The Vinings Club here in Smyrna, GA from 7:30 to 10:30 pm. Tickets are pretty expensive (for our one-income family) to attend the dinner and silent auction, so I’m totally donating a couple of items, but sadly, I won’t be attending. Boo.

I was contacted via my Etsy page by one of the PTA moms in charge of the auction and asked if I would like to contribute some of my Upcycled Art items such as paper ornaments and gift bows, and then I also decided to make one of my mixed media sculptures as a second donation. I should have taken a better picture of my upcycled donation before I gave it to her, but oh well. I made a cool box/container, a picture frame, a few envelopes, some gift tags, paper ornaments, and gift bows. The total sale value of the package was $60 and I hope it brings at least that at the auction.

I did have the presence of mind to get some good pictures of the mixed media sculpture I made and donated:

It’s titled “The Yellow Mold,” from my Mold Series that I’ve been working on recently. It’s by far my favorite one I’ve made, and if I hadn’t donated it to the auction, I totally would’ve kept it for myself. Sheesh.

The Yellow Mold is approximately 10″ x 14″ and priced at $75. Who knows how much someone will pay for it at the auction? I hope the school gets some money for it and I hope whoever buys it loves it as much as I do.

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

